reading

During the last few days I’ve been reading this book by Aidan Chambers. It’s in two parts and I’ve plunged straight into the second. They may be two quite separate stories or they may be connected somehow. I’m not sure. But I chose to read the second first because the blurb intimated a love story of two boys. It is; and a sad and brief and traumatic one. It’s called Dance on My Grave.chambers_gravedance.jpg
Chambers is a writer I like. I’ve read some of his stuff before, and as I read this think perhaps not enough. He is so very good with words. He likes words; clearly likes them a lot ‘cos he plays with them, and uses more than most writers do. I like that. His style is interesting too. Well here – I don’t remember that it’s always like this. One of the boys narrates and he loves language and literature too so maybe the style is meant to be more him than the author. There’s a lot of not quite direct description of events, feelings, reactions. The reader is meant to understand without being told directly always, and there are references and allusions to help. This makes the writing additionally rich on top of the extended vocabulary. So I’m enjoying the book and I shall be a little regretful when it stops: it’s one of those stories I never want to end, where a world is created I feel like I would like to live in for ever.

~ by crisargos on Friday, 29 June, 2007.

One Response to “reading”

  1. I’ve just come across your blog. I’m glad you like my book so much. You egt to the heart of the matter: language. And it seems to me that if we’re going to read anything more than one page long, the writer should make it as rich as he is capable of making it: layered but not clotted; clear and not muddy.
    Love your house. Aidan.

Leave a Reply

 
www.openculture.com/

Otro sitio más de WordPress.com

Toby Toy

an amusement

Gay Cultes

an amusement

